Hoch Chamber Music Concerts

The Hoch Chamber Music Series
2017-18 Season

Amazing artists and fantastic hall – the 2017-18 season is such a wonderful one. More than ever, this is the Hoch Series you’ve you loved attending.

You will not want to miss a concert. Celebrating the gala with gospel singer Ruth Naomi Flloyd and Broadway’s Norm Lewis to a concert reflecting the Concordia College’s  2017-18 academic theme of The Reformation” to a chamber music great L’Histoire du Soldat by Igor Stravinsky  We have a seat for you in the Sommer Center to experience the beauty.

Saturday, April 21, 2018

7:00 pm
The Russian Influence

G. Fauré: Piano Quartet No. 2 in G minor  
I. Stravinsky: L’Histoire du soldat for violin, double bass, clarinet, bassoon, trumpet, trombone, and percussion, and three actors & woman dancer

The second of Fauré’s two piano quartets dates from 1885 to 1886, around the time he met Tchaikovsky. Like the Russian, Fauré was at heart a Classicist who prized balance, delicacy, and transparency above all and the G-Minor Quartet is singularly free of pretention and is soaring with its beautiful melodies.

Performed by three actors and a dancer, accompanied by a septet of instruments, The Soldier's Tale is a theatrical chamber music work "to be read, played, and danced." It was conceived by Igor Stravinsky and Swiss writer C. F. Ramuz based on a Russian folk tale (The Runaway Soldier and the Devil). The libretto relates the parable of a soldier who trades his fiddle to the devil in return for unlimited economic gain.











Display: List / Grid
Sort By: